Saturday, May 14, 2016

Saturday, May 7, 2016


In honor of the 12th Festival of Pacific Arts, the Guam Literary Arts Publications Committee will celebrate the publication of Local Voices: An Anthology at Pika’s Cafe on Thursday, May 12, 2016, at 6:30 p.m. The collection of poetry and creative narratives features 37 authors from the Pacific Island region, many of whom are official delegates representing Guam at Fest Pac 2016.

Authors in Local Voices include the following: Michael Lujan Bevacqua, Simone Efigenia Perez Bollinger, Kisha Borja-Quichocho, Raina Carpo, Dennis Chan, Paulette M. Coulter, Brandon Cruz, Eduardo R. Cruz, Tressa Cundiff Dela Cruz, Alicia U. Diego, Evelyn Flores, Louie Gombar, Mary P. Hattori, Kenneth Gofigan Kuper, Victoria-Lola Leon Guerrero, Arielle Lowe, Lufi A. Luteru, Kelly G. Marsh-Taitano, Cara Flores Mays, Leiana S.A. Naholowa'a, Craig Santos Perez, Kallen Perez, Doug Poole, Malia Ramirez, Andrew Roberto, Shane Root, Vincent John Salas, Johanna Salinas, Corey Santos, Meta Sarmiento, Megan Taitague, Ewy Taitano, Tanya Taimanglo, Tabitha Espina Velasco, Desiree Taimanglo Ventura, Clarissa Villava, and Verna Zafra.

WHAT: The Local Voices public book launch event is free and open to the public and will include live readings by the authors. Copies of the book will be available for purchase at the event, and the special Fest Pac price for the book is $20.00.

WHEN: Thursday, May 12, 2016, at 6:30 p.m.

WHERE: Pika’s Cafe, Upper Tumon

WHO: Delegates and Members of the Guam Fest Pac Literary Arts Publications Committee; Authors featured in Local Voices

WHY: Local Voices has been created specifically for the 12th Festival of Pacific Arts, which Guam is hosting this year. The Guam Fest Pac Publications Committee seeks to expand opportunities for local writers to publish their work as well as increase Pacific Island literature and literacy in our region.

Monday, May 2, 2016

PIBBA Steering Committee Hard at Work

PIBBA Guam Steering Committee.  Pictured L-R:  Dawn Maka; Bobbie Benavente; Professor Rosa Salas Palomo, Vice President; Dr. Jose Cruz, Historian; Ewy Taitano, President; Joey Leon Guerrero; Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Webmaster; Juanita Manibusan; and Mye Ganan-Flores.

PIBBA Steering Committee discuss logistics of the 35th PIBBA International Conference at Lemai Cafe on April 30, 2016.

Local Voices Book Launch - May 12